Skip to content ↓

Charles Darwin School

  • Aspire - Endeavour - Achieve

Faculty Praise

The Creative Arts Department has introduced perseverance pins, a new reward system to recognise students who have shown determination in their art or textiles lessons. The badges will not necessarily be awarded to those who have an obvious flair for art, but to those who show they have persevered in a particular task. 

This could be demonstrated in a variety of ways, for example through:

· working hard to get better at a skill

· working independently

· problem solving

· working through a mistake

· showing commitment to learning outside of the classroom.

One perseverance pin will be awarded in each class in Years 7, 8 and 9 and students will be presented with their badge in a lesson, to be worn on the school blazer throughout the next half term. Students will then be asked to return it to their class teacher so that it can be awarded again to celebrate another student’s success the following half term.

Congratulations to all the recipients of the first perseverance pins.

In Year 7: Aaron Hollis, Hermione Weston, Georgia Baxter, Ronnie Jones, Rachel Barnes, J'Marni Fasiyiro, Mason Pridham, Lewis Wells, Morgan Shepard and Elyse Gardiner.

In Year 8: Finlay Cussen, Niamh Johnston, Andrew Stevens, Louis Cook, Helen Cotzias, Hanna Blunt, Jade Helps, Mason Harvey, Eloise Long and Olivia Cohen

In Year 9 art: Oscar Tuxford and Kathleen Giles.

In Year 9 textiles: Sancha Roa Avendano.

“This is one of our strategies to support the Growth Mindset and help students to develop resilience,” explains Miss Miller, Head of Creative Arts. “I look forward to seeing the pins being worn with pride around school.”

Congratulations to all the recipients of the perseverance pins awarded in Autumn 2016

Year 7: Charlie Dejonge, Lily-Rose Hudson, George Sheldrick, Darren Green, Kirsty Hunt, Erin Hartley, Callum Bloomfield, Liam Ricketts, Kwame Opoku-Ware and Joshua Trebell

Year 8:  Elizabeth Whitlock, Madison Lambert, Emmanuel Obeng-Boateng, Jamie-Leigh Shoesmith, Paula Szczyrba, Euan Field, Adam Linekar, Jessica Bailey, Jack Roney and Drew Gerry

In Year 9 art: Helen Cotzias.

In Year 9 textiles: Abbie Summerscales